Its a calm world after all

Who knew having a baby would be so stressful?!

I mean, don’t get me wrong I’m not naive. I knew it was going to be stressful once the baby came. but it’s actually stressful. I can honestly say, hand on heart, I have never felt such stress in my life. I’m one of those who loves my job, my stressful job as a supervisor for the bookings department in a hospital running a team of 5. I love a bit of stress me! But this is a different kind of stress. And to tell you the truth, the older my boy is getting, the more stressed I am becoming. Sometimes after I’ve calmed down from another bout of stress, I actually have a pain in my stomach. Its everything too. The sleepless nights stress me out. Not knowing why my baby is crying stresses me out. Not being able to have a shower, eat a hot dinner without being interrupted, knowing my baby is going to be in so much pain from his jabs, not knowing what the future will bring, money, wet towels on the floor, my partner. IT ALL STRESSES ME OUT.

I knew I had to do something before people would stop talking to me all together and my partner finds me hiding under all my mountain of washing to hide from it all (which by the way grows by the day even though I am at home most days with my son. Everything just gets half done).

I have this friend who couldn’t be more zen if she tried. Buddhas, candles and incense scatter her home and I used to chuckle about it. I actually envy this friend now because as cluttered as all this stuff seemed – it actually worked. She was always so stress-free. And she had a 3-year-old son. I now believe these were her secret weapon.

So, I did some researched on various essentials oils I can burn in my flat to calm me down, de-stress. I found a brilliant website ( http://www.healthyandnaturalworld.com/best-essential-oils-anxiety-depression/ ).

Typing all of these into amazon to purchase a few, my fingers did some walking. I am now overloaded with essential oils, incense sticks, candles, holders, the list goes on and on. whoops. I believe its going to take me approximately 7 years to get through all this. Not to mention everytime I try to burn an oil my partner decides to have an allergy attack and blow everything out. 😦

So basically, I have resided to shutting myself in my bathroom when I get a spare 10 minutes to burn all these oils at once trying desperately to stop myself from having a heart attack from my stress.

I will keep you all updated on the effectiveness of them, but would love to know your thoughts on whether burning oils and candles work or any tips you all have on relieving stress (I’m sure I will try each and every tip!!)

Until next time xx

Leave a Reply

